We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by the Moffs

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $16 AUD  or more


Cypress 04:21
Quakers Drum 03:21
Flowers 04:04
Confusion 05:13
Horto 04:56


'Trails' is a collection of official releases, out-takes, b-sides and demos, from 1984 to 1988.


Tom Kazas: guitar, lead vocals, mellotron
David Byrnes: bass guitar, backing vocals, sarangi
Nick Potts: harmonica (8), organ (9,10),
Alan Hislop: drums (4,5,8-10)
Andrew Byrnes: drums, percussion, tabla (1-3,6,7,11)
Scott Barnes: keyboards (1-3,7,11)
Mick Duncan: organ, piano (4,5)
Damon Giles: organ, backing vocals (2,6)


Songs written by Tom Kazas, except:
I'll Lure You In, The Last Meadow, Horto by Kazas/D.Byrnes
Get The Picture by David Byrnes
Untitled #5 by Kazas/Byrnes/Byrnes/Barnes


Confusion, Horto, Get The Picture -
recorded in The Loft, September 1984.
Produced and engineered by Chris Logan.

I'll Lure You In, The Last Meadow -
recorded at The Wireless Set Sydney October 1985.
Produced and engineered by Chris Logan and The Moffs.

Flowers, By The Breeze -
recorded at Glebe Studios August 1986
Produced by Chris Logan, engineered by Dave Richards

Cypress -
recorded in Tom's Lab June 1987
Produced and engineered by Tom Kazas

Quakers Drum -
recorded at Studios 301 Sydney August 1987.
Produced by The Moffs, engineered by Adrian Bollard.

The Dolphin and I -
recorded at Kingslane Studio August 1988
Produced by The Moffs

Untitled #5 -
Live audience recording of performance at the
Harold Park Hotel, Sydney December 1987


Songs 2-7 originally released on vinyl between 1985-1988 by Citadel Records Sydney Australia.
Songs 8-10 appeared on the band’s 1984 demo cassette release.
Song 1 was a demo.
Song 11 first released here.

All songs remastered by William Bowden and Tom Kazas at King Willy Sound in 2008.

Cover image: Moth Trails by Emilie Halpern.


Thanks to: Tim Pittman and Feel Presents, John Needham and Citadel Records, Greg ‘Quick’ Smyrell, Chris Logan, Ben Evison, Mark Burchett, Yvonne Byrnes, Rose Kazas, Little Ben, Victor Levi, Rocky, Lachlan Worthy.


released February 10, 2018


all rights reserved



the Moffs Sydney, Australia

The Moffs were a psychedelic rock band from Sydney from 1984-1989. They are perhaps best known for their 1985 song Another Day In The Sun. They incorporated many styles: psychedelic rock, progressive rock, blues rock, early post rock, atmospheric rock, 60s/80s pop, free improvisation, impressionistic lyrics, Greek folk music, experimental composition and repetitive minimalist structures. ... more

contact / help

Contact the Moffs

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like the Moffs, you may also like: